Jonathan Hicken Wins Canada Day 150 at Oyster Bed Speedway

(Oyster Bed Bridge, PE, July 7, 2019) – Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) picked up his first victory of the season and tenth career win at his home track in front of a capacity crowd this afternoon.  Hicken had to battle hard with fellow Islander Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) as the two volleyed the lead most of the race. Gosbee ended up crossing the line just behind Hicken to take second place. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence, Bay, NS) had another solid run with a third place finish. Robbie MacEwen (Charlottetown, PE) and current Series point leader Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) came home fourth and fifth respectively.

Gosbee, Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE) and Greg Proude (Springvale, PE) won Atlantic Tiltload Heat Races which set the field for the Canada Day 150.  Troy Burke (Sherwood, PE) goes home with the Exide Batteries Rookie of the Race. MacEwen picked up the Kenny U-Pull Hard Charger award while Hicken pockets the Most Laps Led award.

Three opening classes took to the track prior to the Canada Day 150. Matt Watson (Miscouche, PE) won the Outlaw 50.  Craig MacDonald (Waverly, NS) took the victory for the Maritime League of Legends Island ICF 50 while Danny Chisholm (Canning, NS) came home first in the Bandolero class.

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour returns to Petty International Raceway next Saturday, July 13th for the Irving Oil 150.  Adult general admission tickets are $30.00, youth (8-18yrs) are $10, children 7 and under are free. Pit Admission for the Irving Oil 150 is $35.00. 

Share This