(Antigonish, NS- July 20, 2019) – Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME) was victorious tonight at Riverside International Speedway and took home the prestigious John W. Chisholm Memorial Cup for winning the IWK 250. Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) continued his hot streak finishing second. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS) battled Hicken for the final laps and finished third. Donald Chisholm (Antigonish, NS) came in fourth. Chisholm piloted the No. 88 this evening with a 1971 Holman and Moody Mustang Boss 302 throw back paint scheme in memory of his Father John Chisholm. Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) completed the top five and was the final car that finished on the lead lap.

Clark’s win at the IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis gives Clark the distinction of becoming the first driver to ever win all three Maritime 250 lap events, which also include the Toromont Cat 250 and the Speedway 660 Pro Stock 250.

Competition got underway with five Atlantic Tiltload Heat Races for the 34 competitors vying to make the 32 car field. Heat races were won by Donald Chisholm (Antigonish, NS), Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE), Greg Proude (Springvale, PE), Ashton Tucker (Mirimachi, NB) and Chris Hughes (Brackley Beach, PE). Josh Collins (Placentia, NL) won the Atlantic Tiltload B Feature.

Twenty cars qualified for the prestigious event via heat races. Cars who did not qualify through their heat then competed in a 25 lap last chance race with the top two securing their positions on the starting grid. The remaining ten positions were determined by provisionals as set in the event procedures.

Ashton Tucker picked up the Exide Batteries Rookie of the Race. Kyle Reid (Fort MacMurray, AB) won the Kenny U-Pull Hard Charger award. Clark paced the field for 209 circuits earning him the Most Laps Led award.

NASCAR legend Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO) finished ninth. The stacked field included drivers from five provinces and two states.

Share This