(Halifax, NS –August 8, 2018) The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour and Scotia Speedworld have two days of action packed racing lined up as part of the Toromont Cat 250 weekend! Fans have lots to look forward to with a 100 lap Affordable Fuels Sportsman race on Friday evening and the 19th running of the Toromont Cat 250 on Saturday.

It all kicks off Friday night at 7:00pm with the CARSTAR Weekly Racing Series featuring the Affordable Fuels 100 for the Sportsman division. Two dozen of the best Sportsman drivers from across Nova Scotia are expected to race on Friday evening. They’ll all be chasing Russell Smith Jr (Lakeside), who is looking for an unprecedented sixth straight Cat 250 weekend Sportsman victory. While a number of part time drivers will be gunning for the win, they will have to bring their A- game to compete against the best in the CARSTAR Weekly Racing Series. Kirk Ryan (Upper Nine Mile River), Pete Miller (Kennetcook), Matt Vaughan (Bedford) and Jordan Veinotte (Porter’s Lake) have all scored victories this year. The past two races have seen two first- time Sportsman winners in Richard Salter (Centre Burlington) and Megan Parrott (Beaver Bank). Salter won the 24th Annual Shriners Classic while Parrott became the first female Sportsman feature winner at the track in over two decades.

Prior to the Affordable Fuels Sportsman 100 we will be giving away eight brand new bicycles to eight lucky Scotia Speedworld Kids Club members courtesy of Affordable Fuels – that’s correct eight brand new shiny bikes will be given away Friday night! Just show your Kids Club membership card at the gate on Friday and you will receive a ballot to win the bike of your choice! Please note you must be in attendance to win.

Also on the racing card for Friday evening are the Toursec Thunder & Lightning and the Strictly Hydraulics Legends who will all race 25 lap features prior to the Affordable Fuels Sportsman 100. Friday night admissions are $15.00 for adult, $5.00 for youth, children 7 and under are free. Tickets will be available at the gates on race day (Weekend passes available see below)

Saturday at 5:00pm the cars and stars of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour will compete in the 19th edition of the prestigious Toromont Cat 250! Don’t miss a minute of this high-horsepower experience as teams battle for their piece of the $60,000 purse and contingency funds and the opportunity to engrave their name on the Scott Fraser Memorial Cup.

Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) heads into the Toromont Cat 250 hunting for not only his third consecutive win on the season but also his third consecutive Toromont Cat 250 victory. Ben Rowe (Turner, ME) and Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME) have both won the prestigious event three times but not in consecutive years.

Butcher’s win last weekend extended his point lead in the championship point standings to 84 over Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS), also a former winner of the Toromont Cat 250 (2013). Slaunwhite has lots of competition on his heels with less than 30 points separating second through fifth. Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) is just 15 markers behind Slaunwhite in third. Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) and Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) are within 15 points of Turple sitting fourth and fifth respectively. Blenkhorn also won the Toromont Cat 250 back in 2014.

Pete Shepherd (London, ON) comes to Scotia Speedworld fresh off a NASCAR Xfinity Series start at the Iowa Speedway in late July. Shepherd is a five time NASCAR Pinty’s Series winner, a finalist on the Roush Racing Driver X Show, has starts in the ARCA Racing Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and was the 1998 Canadian Grand National Karting champion. Shepherd will drive the No. 10 Dexter Construction/Toromont Cat Chevrolet, joining the likes of Bobby White, Cale Gale, Ben Rowe and Mike Rowe to drive the car in the Toromont Cat 250 in recent years.

Fans will get to meet all of the stars of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour prior to the Toromont Cat 250 during the on track autograph sessions.

The gang from Race Time Radio will also be joining us to broadcast the Toromont Cat 250. Race broadcast will be available for listeners absolutely free, no subscription necessary, via by clicking the “Listen Live” link.

Tickets for the Toromont Cat 250 are $35.00 for adults, youth (8-15yrs) $10.00, children 7 and under are free. Pit admission for those 18+ is $40.00.

Weekend passes for the Affordable Fuels Sportsman 100 and the 19th Annual Toromont Cat 250 are $50.00 for pit admission, $45.00 grandstands.

Expected Entry List – Toromont Cat 250 (as of August 8)

#07 – Allison MacKinnon – Oyster Bed Bridge, PE

#08 – Nicholas Naugle – Dartmouth, NS

#0- Shawn Turple – Enfield, NS

#5 – Jonathan Hicken – Brudenell, PE

#8 – Kent Vincent – Westmoreland, PE

#10 – Pete Shepard – London, ON

#11 – Marty Prevost – Fall River, NS

#13 – Cassius Clark – Farmington, ME

#13x – Cory Hall – Jolicure, NB

#14 – Terry Dougay – Albany, PE

#18 – Darren MacKinnon – Charlottetown, PE

#21 – Shawn Pierce – Bridgewater, NS

#29 – Greg Proude – Springvale, PE

#30 – Stephen lively – Shubenacadie, NS

#32 – Sarah McKay – Quispamsis, NB

#40 – Robbie MacEwen – Charlottetown, PE

#42– Andrew Rodgers – Smithtown, NB

#44– Russell Smith jr – Lakeside, NS

#48 – Waylon Farrell – Conception Bay, NL

#51 – Braden Langille – Shubenacadie, NS

#53 – Cole Butcher – Porter’s Lake, NS

#54 – Jarrett Butcher – Porter’s Lake, NS

#67 – Dylan Blenkhorn – Truro, NS

#81 – Nevin Scott – Marshfield, PE

#89 – Donald Chisholm – Antigonish, NS

#91 – Dylan Gosbee – Cornwall, PE

#97 – John Flemming – Halifax, NS

#99 – Craig Slaunwhite – Terence Bay, NS

*Entry list subject to change without notice

Past winners of the Toromont Cat 250

2000: John Flemming, Halifax, Nova Scotia
2001: Louie Mechalides, Tyngsboro, Mass.
2002: Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
2003: Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
2004: Johnny Clark, Farmingdale, Maine
2005: Mike Rowe, Turner, Maine
2006: Johnny Clark, Farmingdale, Maine
2007: Mike Rowe, Turner, Maine
2008: Travis Benjamin, Belfast, Maine
2009: Lonnie Sommerville, Saint John, New Brunswick
2010: Cassius Clark, Farmington, Maine
2011: Ben Rowe, Turner, Maine
2012: Cassius Clark, Farmington, Maine
2013: Craig Slaunwhite, Terence Bay, NS
2014: Dylan Blenkhorn, Truro, NS
2015: Cassius Clark, Farmington, ME
2016: Cole Butcher, Porter’s Lake, NS
2017: Cole Butcher, Porter’s Lake, NS
For complete event information, please visit or