Squeglia Wins his Second Star Classic!

Epping, NH- Last years winner of the Star Classic Joe Squeglia of Derry, NH dominated at Star all weekend, taking the win for the second year in a row. Squeglia and 2016 winner Derek Griffith of Hudson, NH both had fast practice times and won their respective heats on Friday.

John Peters of Westbrook, ME started on the pole with Griffith on the outside. Squeglia started third.  Points leader Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA started deep in the field in the 17th position. Nipping at O’Sullivan’s heals in the points chase, Scott MacMichael of New London, NH started fifth and Barry Gray of Belchertown, MA who is third in points started fourth in the field.


Star Classic 100 Up Next For Granite State Pro Stocks

Star, Squeglia with the Checkers. ( Troy Bregy photo)

By Kyle Souza, Granite State Pro Stock Series

WALPOLE, N.H. – The Granite State Pro Stock Series has just three races remaining on the 2017 championship schedule and the battle for the title is heating up heading for Star Speedway this coming Friday and Saturday night.

The GSPSS will be part of the annual Star Classic weekend, which is a two-day show that also includes the International Supermodified Association (ISMA). The GSPSS will compete in a 100-lap feature event on the slightly banked asphalt oval in Epping, N.H.


Garrett Hall wins the Oxford 100!

Garrett Hall & Crew in Victory Lane (Troy Bregy Photo)

Oxford, ME- The first Granite State Pro Stock Series race at Oxford Plains Speedway saw Locals Bobby Timmons of Windham, ME on the pole and Derek Kneeland of Sebago, ME on the outside.  At the start of the race Kneeland and Hall were in tight competition for the lead, until the middle of the race when Hall held the lead for much of the remaining laps.

In third place for much of the race and showing the patience of a veteran racer, fourteen-year-old Gabe Brown ran impressive race. Series regular and the current point leader Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield MA, was consistent all night and moved from thirteenth position to tenth by the end of the race. This granted him a provisional position in the Oxford 250 on Sunday. Former series champion Derek Griffith also ran consistently throughout the race starting eleventh and finishing seventh in the race.


GSPSS Heads For Oxford 250 Weekend Battle 100 Lap Feature Set For Saturday Night

By Kyle Souza, Granite State Pro Stock Series

WALPOLE, N.H. – For the first time in the history of the Granite State Pro Stock Series, the drivers are heading for Oxford Plains Speedway on Oxford 250 weekend.

The GSPSS drivers will compete in a 100-lap feature on Saturday night, which is the night before the prestigious 44th annual Scott’s Recreation Oxford 250.  The event will allow some of the drivers planning to run the 250 a chance to compete with the regulars of the GSPSS. The hope is that drivers who compete learn something heading for Sunday’s prestigious event.


Josh King wins his first at the JBH 100!!

Josh King Victory Lane (Troy bregy Photo)

Winchester, NH- Josh King of Vernon, Vermont took his first Granite State Pro Stock Series win at the JBH 100 on Saturday night. Points leader Mike O’Sullivan of Sprigfield, MA looked like he would be a threat posting the fastest times in practice. He also ran well in his heat finishing second behind his brother Tommy O’Sullivan of Wilbraham, MA. 

As dark skies and lightning loomed west of the track, King started on the poll in the Feature and Jeremy Harclerode of Newmarket, NH started on the outside. The early part of the race saw King take the lead early with Scott MacMichael of New London, NH and Nick Lascuola of Abington, MA close behind.


GSPSS Headed To Monadnock Annual JBH 100 Set For Saturday Night

By Kyle Souza, Granite State Pro Stock Series 

WALPOLE, N.H. – The Granite State Pro Stock Series will celebrate the life and pay tribute to John Hoyt on Saturday night at Monadnock Speedway. The annual “JBH” 100 lap main event is set for the high-banks of Monadnock.

Hoyt, the co-founder of the series, unexpectedly passed away back in 2011 and this race was put together in his honor. Last year, series president Mike Parks won the race behind the wheel of his No. 66.