140606 lee-11

photo by Rich Hayes

Lee, NH – After Mother Nature caused postponement of the originally scheduled opener, the first Friday night program of weekly NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing action at Lee USA Speedway went into the record books on Friday night with Sparky MacIver taking down the checkers in the EKeys 4Cars Supermodified main event.


MacIver made his way to the front early in the feature, with defending and three-time division champion Tommy Tombarello, Jr. hot on his heels all the way.  Jake Stergios was right behind the lead duo for most of the race, but that’s just the way they finished, with MacIver taking down the win in the Bob Chabot entry.

Tombarello backed up his opening day win with a solid second place run in the Witkum Brothers Racing machine, followed by Stergios in third in his family-owned #11.  2014 Rookie of the Year contender Lance Barthelemy picked up a strong fourth place finish, with Leslie Keyser, Mike Spurling, freshman Kyle Sawyer, Jim Barker, Bobby Webber, Jr., and Moe Lattime rounding out the top ten.


Defending champion Grant Aither picked up right where he left off in the Prime Storage and Warehouse Late Model Sportsman main, putting in an impressive run to score his first feature win of the season over 2013 Rookie of the Year Niko Maniatis.


2009 Ironman champ Tom Harton scored an impressive third place finish in his LMS debut, while 2011 Hobby Stock champion Mark Parenteau came home fourth in his first outing handling the driving duties for the 2012 championship Brian House-owned team.


Fifth spot went to Frankie Eldridge, with Tommy Tomarello sixth in the second Brian House entry, David “Doc“ Piper seventh, former Ironman standout Kyle Roy eighth, Two-time 2013 winner and early leader Geoff Rollins ninth, and Jesse Bousquet tenth.


With opening day winner Dennis Dumas sitting out the night due to work commitments, brother-in-law Alby Ovitt took climbed behind the wheel for the night and dominated both ends of the double features in the David’s Race Cars and Components Hobby Stocks, claiming the checkers in both feature events.


Defending champ Patrick Tanguay scored runner-up honors in the first race, with Dave MacDonald, Brian DeStefano, Matt Kawejsza, rookie Zac Fraser, veteran Brian Thompson, 2008 Ironman champ Chris Harding, Jay Avery, and Kevin Bowman closing out the top ten.


In the second race, DeStefano grabbed runner-up honors, followed by Tanguay, Billy Clement, Jr., Kawejsza, Dylan Bilodeau, Harding, Torrey Kovalesky, MacDonald, and Thompson.


The two Benson Lumber and Hardware Ironman divisions ran double features as well, with Jesse Tellier coming out on top twice in the 4-cylinder class.  In 6-cylinder competition, 2012 Rookie of the Year Tyler Mitchell ran a solid race to claim top honors over Glen Billings, defending champ Travis Hollins, and Jeff Nadeau in the season opener, with Billings topping the nightcap ahead of Hollins, Nadeau, Shane Horvath, Mitchell, Austin Elliott, and Kristen DeStefano.


Racing action resumes on Friday, June 13th, with the annual “Salute to First Responders” and another full night of action featuring the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Supermodifieds, the Prime Storage and Warehouse Late Model Sportsmen (running double features), David’s Race Cars and Components Hobby Stocks, Benson Lumber and Hardware Ironmen, and the Northeast Classic Lites.

Tagged with →  
Share →